You are here
Home > Club Rugby > New Zealand club rugby round-up 2 May

New Zealand club rugby round-up 2 May

New Zealand club rugby round-up 2 May

Premier club rugby competitions around New Zealand hit new levels of excitement in the first weekend of May. There was joy for some and anguish for others with a number of close matches around the various competitions.

First XV rugby is now underway throughout the country, with a couple of prominent competitions starting up. However, a dangerous precedent is being set by some unions promoting these schoolboy competitions above club rugby.

Southland’s rugby players were away shooting ducks this weekend, but the Premier Dunedin competition got interesting with leaders and unbeaten Southern held to a 27-27 draw by mid-table Zingari-Richmond. Southern still lead, but second and third placed Harbour and Taieri both had big bonus point wins.

In Christchurch, New Brighton and Lincoln University continue to lead, both cruising to their sixth straight wins. New Brighton defeated strugglers Belfast 59-17 and Lincoln University beat Linwood 48-3.

In Wellington, Tawa defeated Marist St Pat’s in a battle of the big guns, while Hutt Old Boys Marist beat Old Boys University 40-20 – leaving Tawa and HOBM as the two unbeaten sides after seven rounds of 11 in the Swindale Shield.

Paraparaumu are the outright leaders in Horowhenua Kapiti Premier rugby, beating Shannon 46-12. Waikanae are a point back after edging Levin Athletic 11-5.

In Manawatu, College Old Boys claimed the first round Jubilee Cup, heading into their bye next weekend, beating Linton Army 39-7. Old Boys Marist pipped Feilding 32-31 in the round’s thriller. Varsity’s S Healy continued his prolific try-scoring, bagging five tries in his team’s 71-0 win over Freyberg.

New Plymouth Old Boys returned to form and to the top of the table by 5 points with a 43-33 win over Southern, while Tukapa grabbed an important 49-10 win over Stratford and second placed Spotswood saw off Clifton in Taranaki club rugby.

Taradale were pushed all the way by Havelock North before winning 23-19 and registering their sixth straight win in the Hawke’s Bay Nash Cup competition. Napier Pirates are second after being winless Tamatea 51-12.

Te Puke Sports beat Mt Maunganui 22-12 and Rotoiti defeated Greerton Marist 34-25 in the two closest results of the opening round of the Bay of Plenty Baywide competition. At the other end of the scale, there were a series of one-sided results.

In Waikato, Fraser Tech’s 23-22 win over Otorohanga was the closest result of the afternoon in ninth round matches. Otorohanga has now slipped to second behind defending champions Hamilton Marist who accounted for Te Awamutu Sports 40-13.

There was no shortage of scoring in the eighth round of the Counties Manukau Premier competition, with four one-sided romps. Leaders Pukekohe were pushed hard by Waiuku, winning 23-16. Karaka are just a point behind in second after they beat Drury 78-3. Pukekohe and Karaka meet next weekend.

Pakuranga and University are the two unbeaten teams through four rounds of Auckland’s Premier Blue Pool competition. Pakuranga defeated Waitemata 22-5, while University over-ran Maungarua 89-5. In the White Pool, Grammar TEC beat winless Eden 32-12 to register their third straight win. Ponsonby defeated Marist 29-26 in a thriller on Beegee Day.

Over the Harbour Bridge, Massey took their sixth straight victory without leaving their clubrooms – defaulted to by Mahurangi. The Western Pioneers are second after beating mid-table Northcote 47-17 and Glenfield are third after beating North Shore 50-7.

In Northland, Wellsford won their fifth straight match, beating Hikurangi 31-15. The Southern Districts Premiers competition is one of the more even in the country, with Mid Northern holding second after beating Otamatea 31-11 and Hora Hora beating the Western Sharks 19-13 in another clutch result.

To view the news / results from our current Heartland Championship partners

For a result wrap-up of other club rugby competitions please see below (note of the results available as at Sunday morning):
Bay of Plenty
Baywide Premier competition
Whakatane Marist 58 – 13 Waikite
Whakarewarewa 91 – 07 Paroa
Te Puna 47 – 07 Rangataua
Rotoiti 34 – 25 Greerton Marist
Tauranga Sports 62 v 10 Opotiki
Te Puke Sports 22 – 12 Mt Maunganui

Canterbury Country
Provisional Results

Hornby 28 v Lincoln 43,
Prebbleton 6 v Darryl Phillips Motors Celtic 27,
Glenmark 41 v Kaiapoi 18,
West Melton 12 v Southbridge 29,
REL Rakaia 15 v Oxford 26,

Devon Tavern Hampstead 20 v PWL Methven 23,
Ashley 13 v Darfield 14,
Ohoka 7 v Saracens 29,
Burn/Duns/Irw 3 v Waihora 24,
Rolleston 17 v Claas Harvest Centre Southern 24,

Celtic Kellys Cafe & Bar v Allenton,
Hampstead KFC 22 v Collegiate Eclipse Services 7,
Rakaia Murray Hood Baling 17 v Mt Somers 17,
Southern Tinwald Tavern 22 v Tinwald Senior B 8,
BYE: Methven R&R Haulage

Collegiate Eclipse Services 55 v Allenton 0,
Hampstead KFC 19 v Methven R&R Haulage 20,
Rakaia Murray Hood Baling 8 v Tinwald Senior B 8,
BYE: Celtic Kelly’s Cafe & Bar

Counties Manukau
Challenge Cup (Premier)
Manurewa 74 – 03 Te Kauwhata
Ardmore Marist 30 – 07 Onewhero
Karaka 78 – 03 Drury
Pukekohe 23 – 16 Waiuku
Patumahoe 69 – 10 Papakura
Bombay 51 – 03 Weymouth

Waikanae 11 – 05 Levin Athletic
Paraparaumu 46 – 12 Shannon
Foxton 30 – 08 Wanderers

College Old Boys 39 – 07 Linton Army
Varsity 71 – 00 Freyberg
Old Boys Marist 32 – 31 Feilding
Kia Toa 27 – 17 Feilding Old Boys Oroua
Te Kawau – bye.

Southern Districts Premiers
Mid Northern 31 – 11 Otamatea
Horahora 19 – 03 Western Sharks
Mid Western 36 – 08 Old Boys Marist
Waipu 34 – 14 Kamo
Wellsford 31 – 15 Hikurangi

Bay of Islands (Round 4)
Moerewa 60 – 00 Otiria
Kerikeri 25 – 15 UK
Ohaeawai 44 – 07 Okaihau
Kaeo 26 – 25 Kaikohe

Southern 27 – 27 Zingari-Richmond
Taieri 78 – 06 Alhambra-Union
Dunedin 47 – 16 Pirates
Kaikorai 30 – 22 University
Harbour 60 – 05 Green Island

South Canterbury
Celtic 33 – 20 Pleasant Point
Mackenzie 34 – 03 Geraldine
Temuka 31 – 24 Waimate
Harlequins 50 – 10 Old Boys

Tasman Trophy
Wanderers 50 – 17 Waitohi
Waimea 30 – 17 Moutere
Kahurangi 17 – 16 Harlequins
Stoke 40 – 20 Renwick
Central 33 – 15 Marist

Thames Valley
North 64 – 10 West
Cobras 40 – 00 Ngatea
Waihi 29 – 23 Tairua
Waihou 49 – 24 Thames

Hamilton Marist 40 – 13 Te Awamutu Sports
Melville 52 – 27 Hautapu
Fraser Tech 23 – 22 Otorohanga
Hamilton Old Boys 42 – 25 University
Morrinsville Sports 38 – 05 United Matamata Sports

Club Rugby | 03 May 2015 | Steven White



Similar Articles


Shopping cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.
%d bloggers like this: