The Heartland Championship is a semi-professional New Zealand provincial rugby competition, known for sponsorship reasons as the Bunnings Warehouse Heartland Championship, it is a domestic rugby union competition in New Zealand.

It was founded in 2006 as one of two successor competitions to the country’s former domestic competition, the National Provincial Championship (NPC).

The country’s 27 provincial teams were split into two separate competitions. Thirteen of the original teams, plus one merged side created from two other teams, entered the new top-level professional competition, the Air New Zealand Cup.

The remaining 12 sides from outside the main centers of New Zealand entered the new Heartland Championship, whose teams contest two distinct trophies, both named after legendary New Zealand players:

    • The Meads Cup, the more prestigious trophy, named after Sir Colin Meads.
    • The Lochore Cup, named after Sir Brian Lochore.

The Competition

The Heartland Championship is held annually, and starts in August. Rugby teams from 12 provincial unions compete.

    • 4 points for a win
    • 2 points for a draw
    • 0 points for a loss
    • 1 bonus point for scoring 4 or more tries, regardless of the final result
    • 1 bonus point for a loss by 7 points or less

Points scored reverted back to normal scoring in 2019 after trialing a different system in 2018

      • Try = 5 points
      • Penalty Try = 7 points (no conversion attempt required)
      • Conversion = 2 points
      • Penalty goal = 3 points
      • Dropped goal = 3 points

Prior to 2011

Prior to the 2011 Competition, the tournament was conducted in three rounds. This was similar to the structure of the 2006 Air New Zealand Cup, but that competition collapsed its first two phases into one effective in 2007. At the start of Round One, the 12 teams would split into seeded pools of six teams each, Pool A and Pool B. Seedings were also based on positions in the previous year’s competition. During Round One, each team would play the other teams in its pool once. All teams would have either two or three home fixtures, with the three highest seeds in each pool at the start of the season receiving the extra home fixture.

All teams would advance to Round Two. The top three teams in each pool advance to the Meads Cup, while the bottom three teams enter the Lochore Cup.

Round two saw each team in both the Meads and Lochore Cups playing the three teams that it did not play during Round One. The three teams with the most competition points in Round One would play two home fixtures and one away, while the other three teams would play one home fixture and two away.

All competition points from Round One carried over to Round Two, and the competition points earned in both rounds determined the teams that advanced to the semifinals of each Cup in Round Three. The top four teams in the Meads and Lochore Cup competitions at the end of Round Two advanced to the semifinals.

Round Robin

This round sees the 12 teams playing 8 games each. 1st to 4th on the ladder at the end of the 8 weeks will play off for the Meads Cup, while 5th to 8th play off for the Lochore Cup.


The Meads and Lochore Cup winners are both determined in four-team single-elimination tournaments. The semifinal match-ups are seeded 1-4 and 2-3, with the higher seed receiving home field advantage. The highest surviving seed hosts each Cup final.

Heartland Championship teams

A map of current NZRU union boundaries, including teams competing in both the Mitre10 Cup and Heartland Championship

The Heartland Championship is contested by the following teams:

Province Investec Super Rugby Partner Hometown
Buller Crusaders Westport
Ecoast.png East Coast Hurricanes Ruatoria
Hkapiti.png Horowhenua-Kapiti Hurricanes Levin
Kcountry.png King Country Chiefs Taupo
Mcantab.png Mid Canterbury Crusaders Ashburton
Northotago.png North Otago Highlanders Oamaru
Povertybay.png Poverty Bay Hurricanes Gisborne
Scantab.png South Canterbury Crusaders Timaru
Thamesvalley.png Thames Valley Chiefs Paeroa
Wbush.png Wairarapa Bush Hurricanes Masterton
Whanganuicolors.png Wanganui Hurricanes Wanganui
Wcoast.png West Coast Crusaders Greymouth

Prior to 2006, East Coast, North Otago, Poverty Bay and Wanganui competed in Division Two of the NPC, alongside Counties-Manukau, Hawke’s Bay, Manawatu, Nelson Bays and Marlborough (all promoted to the Air New Zealand Cup, Nelson Bays and Marlborough merging to form Tasman). The remaining teams competed in Division Three of the NPC.


Year Meads Cup Winner Lochore Cup Winner
2006 Wbush.png Wairarapa Bush Povertybay.png Poverty Bay
2007 Northotago.png North Otago Povertybay.png Poverty Bay
2008 Whanganuicolors.png Wanganui Povertybay.png Poverty Bay
2009 Whanganuicolors.png Wanganui Northotago.png North Otago
2010 Northotago.png North Otago Wbush.png Wairarapa Bush
2011 Whanganuicolors.png Wanganui Povertybay.png Poverty Bay
2012 Ecoast.png East Coast  Buller
2013 Mcantab.png Mid Canterbury Scantab.png South Canterbury
2014 Mcantab.png Mid Canterbury Whanganuicolors.png Wanganui
2015 Whanganuicolors.png Wanganui Kcountry.png King Country
2016 Whanganuicolors.png Wanganui Northotago.png North Otago
2017 Whanganuicolors.png Wanganui Mcantab.png Mid Canterbury
2018 Thamesvalley.png Thames Valley Hkapiti.png Horowhenua-Kapiti
2019 Northotago.png North Otago Scantab.png South Canterbury
2020  —–  —–


 Please follow us at Facebook , as we continue to develop this site fully ..