You are here
Home > Heartland Championship > 2015 Buller Squad Announced

2015 Buller Squad Announced

2015 Buller Squad Announced


ResizedImage260195-SANY0107The Chairman and Coaches are pleased to announce the following Buller Rugby Union squad for the 2015 Seddon Shield and Pink Batts Heartland Championship.  The squad of 27 players includes 14 from last season’s record breaking year where the team won the Seddon Shield and went through the round robin phase of the Pink Batts Heartland Championship unbeaten, the first time any team had achieved that feat since the competitions inception in 2006.

While there a number of changes, co-coach Craig Neill commented that the team was selected with an eye to continuing the attractive style of rugby the Buller team has been known for over the past several years.

There are four new faces to the squad, Isaac McDonald has been rewarded for his solid club form over the past two seasons whilst Ngakawau pair Inia Toa and Tyler Price have been rewarded for their excellent club form this year. Westport loose forward Jale Masi has been included in the squad as well.

The team has a wealth of experience in the forward pack with veterans Luke Brownlee and Phil Beveridge returning, both players have a staggering 312 combined caps for Buller. Logan Mundy (87 caps) and Andrew Stephens (73 caps) return also giving the side much needed experience.heatland4a

There are 6 returning Buller players in the squad with Paul Clarkson and John Noble earning recalls whilst Westport trio Marc and Stephen Crackett and Mitieli Kaloudigibeci all have earnt their way back in Buller colours on the back of excellent club seasons. Reefton captain and playmaker Thor Manawatu has also been included with strong outings for his side this season.

In addition to the local players, there are four loan players in the squad, a very familiar face in Peni Nabainivalu (65 caps) who played his club rugby in Wellington this season. Hagan Schulte (first-five) from Canterbury, Brad Hemapo (lock) from Tasman and Anthony Ellis (prop) from Wellington are the three other players joining the squad.

Buller Rugby Chairman Erik Westergaard congratulated all players on their selection to the representative team and wished them well for the coming season.

Training will be this Tuesday 28th July, 6-30pm at Craddock Park.

The 2015 Buller Squad is as follows:-

  • Simon Abel
  • Phil Beveridge
  • Luke Brownlee
  • Paul Clarkson
  • Brad Collins
  • Marc Crackett
  • Stephen Crackett
  • Glen Duncan
  • Jesse Elley
  • Anthony Ellis
  • Brad Hemapo
  • Mitieli Kaloudigibeci
  • Blair McIlroy
  • Isaac McDonald
  • Thor Manawatu
  • Jale Masi
  • Craig Moore
  • Logan Mundy
  • Penijamini Nabainivalu
  • Scott Neighbours
  • John Noble
  • Tyler Price
  • Taione Ratu
  • Setefano Sauqaqa
  • Hagen Schulte
  • Andrew Stephens
  • Inia Toa





Similar Articles

%d bloggers like this: