You are here
Home > RugbyHeartland News > New Zealand Universities team named for internal tour

New Zealand Universities team named for internal tour

 New Zealand Universities team named for internal tour

The New Zealand Universities selectors this week selected their side for their upcoming New Zealand tour.

A 23-man squad has been selected for the two-match tour, against the Bay of Plenty Wasps on Tuesday 25 April (Anzac Day) at Blake Park in Mt Maunganui and against a Kanto XV on Saturday 29 April at Waikato Stadium. This second fixture is a curtain-raiser to the Chiefs versus Sunwolves Super Rugby match.

The side will be captained by Canterbury halfback Jack Stratton, who has played two seasons with the red and blacks and is a NPC and Ranfurly Shield winner. Prop Chris Gawler has made his NPC debut for Canterbury and Lincoln University wing Lincoln wing Caleb Makene played for the New Zealand U20s.

Manawatu’s Hamish Northcott is the only player in the team with Super Rugby experience, having played for the Blues two years ago. Northcott is one of five Massey University players in the side along with Turbos No 10 Sam Malcolm, former Turbos hooker Nick Grogan along with outside back Sam Healy and No 8 Kirk Tufuga.

Other players with provincial caps to their names are Auckland No 8 Sinclair Dominikovich-Murray, Waikato inside back Jason Roberston and Wellington prop Finnbarr Kerr-Newell.

Sinclair-Dominikovich and Wellington wing Te Wehi Wright are the team’s vice-captains. Brendon Timmins and Simon Forrest are the coaches.

The squad is:

Sam Healy (Massey)
Hamish Northcott (Massey)
Nick Grogan (Massey)
Kirk Tufuga (Massey),
Sam Malcolm (Massey),
Jack Stratton (Lincoln) (c)
Sinclair Dominikovich-Murray (Auckland) (vc)
Te Wehi Wright (Old Boys-University, Wellington) (vc)
Jason Robertson (Waikato)
Harrison Groundwater (Lincoln)
Marius Tonu’u (Auckland)
Sam Godwin (Canterbury)
Will Mangos (OBU, Wellington)
Angus Williams (Otago)
Finnbarr Kerr-Newell (OBU, Wellington)
Chris Gawler (Lincoln)
Nigel Gibb (Canterbury)
Tom Hardy (Otago)
Caleb Makene (Lincoln)
Jono Osbourne (Lincoln)
Marcel Renata (Auckland)
Damien Scott (Auckland)
Jack Sherratt (Otago)

Club Rugby | 14 April 2017 | Club Rugby



Similar Articles

%d bloggers like this: