You are here
Home > RugbyHeartland News > New Zealand squad named for World Rugby Under 20 Championship

New Zealand squad named for World Rugby Under 20 Championship


The squad to represent New Zealand at the World Rugby Under 20 Championship in Manchester, England next month, has been named.

The squad was revealed in a video interview with Head Coach Scott Robertson.

The New Zealand Under 20 squad is:

Ayden Johnstone Waikato
Shaun Stodart Otago
Sean Paranihi Canterbury
Alex Fidow Wellington
Sosefo Kautai Waikato
Leni Apisai, captain Wellington/Hurricanes
Asafo Aumua Wellington
Quinten Strange Tasman
Hamish Dalzell Canterbury
Lock /Loose Forward
Isaia Walker-Leawere Wellington
Fin Hoeata Taranaki
Loose Forward
Mitchell Jacobson Waikato
Luke Jacobson Waikato
Dalton Papali’i Auckland
Marino Mikaele Tu’u Hawke’s Bay
Hapakuki Moala-Liava’a North Harbour
Jonathan Taumateine Counties Manukau
Sam Nock Northland/Blues
First five-eighth
Stephen Perofeta Taranaki
TJ Va’a Wellington/Hurricanes
Orbyn Leger Counties Manukau
Jordie Barrett Canterbury
Patelesio Tomkinson Otago/Highlanders
Jonah Lowe Hawke’s Bay
Malo Tuitama Wellington
Outside back
Caleb Makene Canterbury
Shaun Stevenson Waikato/Chiefs
Jordan Trainor Waikato/Blues

nzu201Robertson said the coaching team was confident their squad offered skill sets and versatility that provided both experience and fresh fire power.

“We’ve got six players from Super Rugby teams, two guys returning from last year’s team, and we have nine players young enough to be eligible to play again next year. It’s a good balance – a little bit of experience, youth and exuberance from the young fellas, and the professionalism from the Super players.”

Loose forward Mitchell Jacobson returns for a remarkable third year with the Under 20 campaign, and this year he is joined by his younger brother and fellow loose forward, Luke.

Proving that rugby genes run strong in the family, Jordie Barrett, younger brother of All Black Beauden Barrett, and Fin Hoeata, brother of former All Black and Maori All Black Jarrad Hoeata, are also set to travel to Manchester.

Also named is 2015 Age Grade Player of the Year nominee Alex Fidow of Wellington, who last year won the New Zealand Schools Bronze Boot award, and Heartland Player of the Year nominee Stephen Perofeta who, while still at Wanganui Collegiate as a Year 13 student last year, was a key weapon in Wanganui’s road to Meads Cup victory in the Heartland Championship last year. Perofeta was selected for the New Zealand Heartland XV squad and went on to run up 58 points in just three matches.

Robertson expects competition to be fierce at the World Championship with England likely to again be strong with their Premiership players available, and Australia also providing stiff competition with the availability of Super Rugby players.

“We’re in a tough pool. We’ve got Wales who won the Six Nations and Ireland who performed really well. We’ve also got Georgia – they’re new to the competition, after they won the tier two competition to come up and we know they love to scrum and maul and they are big men as well.

“We’re excited by the challenge of going back on the world stage, and we’ve got an attitude that we’ve got to go and win the title, not just defend it. We’re really pleased with the squad we have named today, and we have faith that they can step up to the challenge,” Robertson said.

The New Zealand Under 20 squad assembles in Mt Maunganui on 27 May ahead of a game against the Chiefs Development side on Monday 30 May.

A separate media advisory with training and media windows will be distributed closer to the time.

The World Rugby Under 20 Championship kicks off on 7 June with the Final to be played on 25 June 2016.

World Rugby Under 20 Championship
7-25 June
Manchester, England

New Zealand Under 20 match schedule (local times)

Pool A Matches

Tuesday 7 June
New Zealand v Georgia
1945 hrs
AJ Bel Stadium, Salford

Saturday 11 June
New Zealand v Ireland
1330 hrs
Manchester City Academy Stadium, Manchester

Wednesday 15 June
New Zealand v Wales
1730 hrs
AJ Bel Stadium, Salford

Semifinal playoffs will be played on 20 June ahead of the 25 June



Similar Articles

%d bloggers like this: