You are here
Home > RugbyHeartland News > #JHU19s – Defending champions flying high on day one

#JHU19s – Defending champions flying high on day one


Defending Graham Mourie Cup champions Canterbury got off to a flying start at the Jock Hobbs Memorial Under 19 tournament with a commanding 57-10 win over Manawatu while Counties Manukau began the defence of the Michael Jones Trophy with a similarly emphatic 45-17 win over Northland.

In a day of fast paced action at Owen Delany Park in Taupo, Waikato thumped Auckland B 41-0 to move into the semi-finals of the Graham Mourie Cup while Wellington overcame Otago 37-14 and Auckland A dispatched Taranaki 36-11 to round out the Premiership semi-finalists.

In the Michael Jones Trophy division (Championship), Hawke’s Bay ran out winners 41-24 over Southland and Bay of Plenty came from behind to defeat North Harbour 39-31. In the tightest clash of the day, Tasman held out winners 20-17 over the Heartland team to clinch a semi-final spot.

Another feature of the day was Rebecca Mahoney becoming the first female to referee a men’s national domestic competition match in New Zealand when she controlled the Tasman v Heartland encounter.

jhu19_progPremiership: Graham Mourie Cup
Canterbury 57 v 10 Manawatu
Waikato 41 v 00 Auckland B
Wellington 37 v 14 Otago
Auckland A 36 v 11Taranaki

Championship: Michael Jones Trophy
Counties Manukau 45 v 17 Northland
Hawke’s Bay 41 v 24  Southland
Bay of Plenty 39 v 31 North Harbour
Tasman 20 v 17 Heartland

DAY TWO DRAW (Sunday 18 September)
Michael Jones Trophy
11.05am: Semi-final: Hawkes Bay v Bay of Plenty
11.05am: 5th-8th play-off: Southland v North Harbour
1.05pm: 5th-8th play-off: Northland v Heartland
1.40pm: Semi-final: Counties Manukau v Tasman

Graham Mourie Cup
1.05pm: 5th-8th play-off: Manawatu v Auckland B
3.05pm: 5th-8th play-off: Otago v Taranaki
3.20pm: Semi-final: Canterbury v Waikato
5.00pm: Semi-final: Wellington v Auckland A

Six matches are scheduled to be screened LIVE on Sky Sport across the final two match days. These matches are:

Sunday 18 September:
Michael Jones Trophy semi-final 2: Counties Manukau v Tasman, 1.40pm, Sky Sport 2
Graham Mourie Cup semi-final 1: Canterbury v Waikato, 3.20pm, Sky Sport 2
Graham Mourie Cup semi-final 2: Wellington v Auckland A, 5.00pm, Sky Sport 2

Wednesday 21 September:
Graham Mourie Cup bronze final: TBC v TBC, 1.40pm, Sky Sport 1
Michael Jones Trophy final: TBC v TBC, 3.20pm, Sky Sport 1
Graham Mourie Cup final: TBC v TBC, 5pm, Sky Sport 1



Similar Articles

%d bloggers like this: