You are here
Home > RugbyHeartland News > Provincial Barbarians team named for historic opening encounter of the DHL NZ Lions Series

Provincial Barbarians team named for historic opening encounter of the DHL NZ Lions Series

 Provincial Barbarians team named for historic opening encounter of the DHL NZ Lions Series

The pride of New Zealand rugby provinces will be in full noise when the New Zealand Provincial Barbarians team, named today, opens the DHL NZ Lions Series against the British & Irish Lions on Saturday at Toll Stadium in Whangarei.

Provincial Barbarians coach Clayton McMillan has named the following team line- up.

1.    Aidan Ross (Bay of Plenty)
2.    Sam Anderson-Heather – captain (Otago)
3.    Oliver Jager (Canterbury)
4.    Josh Goodhue (Northland)
5.    Keepa Mewett (Bay of Plenty)
6.    James Tucker (Waikato)
7.    Lachlan Boshier (Taranaki)
8.    Mitchell Dunshea (Canterbury)
9.    Jack Stratton (Canterbury)
10.    Bryn Gatland (North Harbour)
11.    Sevu Reece (Waikato)
12.    Dwayne Sweeney (Waikato)
13.    Inga Finau (Canterbury)
14.    Sam Vaka (Counties Manukau)
15.    Luteru Laulala (Counties Manukau)

16.    Andrew Makalio (Tasman)
17.    Tolu Fahamokioa (Wellington)
18.    Marcel Renata (Auckland)
19.    Matt Matich (Northland)
20.    Peter Rowe – vice captain (Wanganui)
21.    Richard Judd (Bay of Plenty)
22.    Jonah Lowe (Hawke’s Bay)
23.    Junior Ngaluafe (Southland)

Otago’s Sam Anderson-Heather will captain the team which features representatives from 14 provincial rugby unions. Heartland rugby veteran and Wanganui provincial stalwart Peter Rowe is vice-captain.

A powerful forward pack will be complemented by an exciting backline, featuring Bryn Gatland at first five-eighth and veteran Dwayne Sweeney at second five-eighth.

McMillan said he is pleased with how the squad has come together this week.

“When we first looked at putting together a squad, the initial process was around understanding what sort of game we wanted to play and the type of player that would meet the profile of that game plan.

“It’s always going to be pretty hard when you are bringing a group together from four corners of New Zealand but from what I can see and the feedback we’ve got, the boys have come together really well,” said McMillan.

The team assembled in Auckland on Saturday and were officially welcomed into Whangarei with a stirring powhiri on Monday.

“We’ve kept things relatively simple with the emphasis on creating an environment where the players can express themselves and represent their provinces with pride. We recognise it’s going to be a hard game but we have plenty to play for and the boys can’t wait to get out there.

“The unique and special occasion for bringing this team together has forced the boys to bond quite quickly, and they’ve enjoyed a fantastic week here in Whangarei,” he said.

Date: Saturday, June 3
Venue: Toll Stadium, Whangarei
Kick-off: 19:35 local (07:35 GMT)
Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)
Assistant Referees: Mike Fraser (New Zealand), Brendon Pickerill (New Zealand)
TMO: Aaron Paterson (New Zealand)



Similar Articles

%d bloggers like this: