You are here
Home > RugbyHeartland News > Hurricanes Development to face Japan A

Hurricanes Development to face Japan A

Hurricanes Development to face Japan A
An opportunity to press their claims for Investec Super Rugby game time has again been stressed to members of the Hurricanes Development side as they prepare to meet Japan A at the Levin Domain on Thursday night.

A number of the Hurricanes squad have been included in the starting XV that also features players who have been drafted in as injury cover.

There will be a welcome return to play for Hurricanes loose forward Blade Thomson who has been sidelined for several weeks while prop Fraser Armstrong will welcome a starting spot.

There is experience in the halves pairing with Richard Judd teaming up with Ihaia West while Peter Umaga-Jensen will play outside the pair .

Hurricanes Development coach Darren Larsen said the message had been stressed to the squad about the importance of taking their opportunity and performing against a Japan A side who were unbeaten in the two matches they had played in New Zealand to date.

Kick-off at Levin is 5.30pm.

The Hurricanes Development squad is:

1. Fraser Armstrong (Manawatu)
2. Nathan Vella (Canterbury)
3. TBC
4. Sam Uluafonua (Hawkes Bay)
5. Liam Mitchell (Manawatu)
6. Josh Kaifa (Hawkes Bay)
7. Sam Henwood/Aaron Lahmert (Counties/Horowhenua Kapiti)
8. Blade Thomson (Taranaki)
9. Richard Judd (Bay of Plenty)
10. Ihaia West (Hawkes Bay)
11. Mason Emerson (Hawkes Bay)
12. Peter Umaga-Jensen (Wellington)
13. Sasa Tofilau (Hawkes Bay)
14. Losi Filipo (Wellington)
15. JJ Taulagi (Hawkes Bay)

16. Tim Cadwallader (Manawatu)
17. Scott Cameron (Horowhenua Kapiti)
18. Sean Rankin (Manawatu)
19. Ryan Shelford (Horowhenua Kapiti)
20. Patrick Allen (East Coast)
21. Lindsay Horrocks (Wanganui)
22. John Ika (Hawkes Bay)
23. James Tofa (Manawatu)
24. Brice Henderson (Manawatu)
25. Willie Paia’aua (Horowhenua Kapiti).

Sunwolves Development XV: 1. Kouki Yamamoto, 2. Atsushi Sakate, 3. Genki Sudo, 4. Anise Samuela, 5. Uwe Helu, 6. Faulua Makisi, 7. Shunsuke Nunomaki (captain), 8. Fetuani Lautaimi, 9. Keisuke Uchida, 10. Rikiya Matsuda, 11. Akihito Yamada, 12. Kanta Shikao, 13. Daishi Murata, 14. Lomano Lava Lemeki, 15. Ryuji Noguchi. Reserves: 16. Takeshi Hino, 17. Emersen Tamura, 18. Shinnosuke Kakinaga, 19. Shinya Makabe, 20. Yuya Odo, 21. Yoshikatsu Nishikawa, 22. Naoto Saito, 23. Ryoto Nakamura, 24. Hitoshi Matsumoto, 25. Robbie Robinson.

The game kicks off 5:30pm at the Levin Domain. Entry is free, head on down to support.



Similar Articles

%d bloggers like this: