Wai-Bush 2014 Heartland pre-season squad announced

    The 2014 Heartland Trust House Wairarapa-Bush pre-season squad has been announced. Finbarr Kerr-Newell – OBU Wellington Zeb Aporo – East Coast Kurt Simmonds - Greytown Inia Kaitia – Gladstone Ollie Terblance - Carterton Joe Sio – Greytown Jacko Hull - Carterton Sam Monaghan – Eketahuna Richard Puddy - Gladstone Ben Aoina – Upper Hutt Eugene Gerrard - Carterton Byron Karaitiana – East

‘Eke’ show mettle in comeback win

Follow @RedefinedRugby True grit should be the catch-cry of the Eketahuna Rugby Club after its senior side pulled out all the stops to clinch the Wairarapa-Bush Rugby Union's Tui Cup grand final on Saturday. The premier side's gutsy comeback win over Gladstone at Memorial Park, Masterton, was more than just a competition

Taihape go ever so close

Follow @RedefinedRugby Wanganui Rugby Ascendancy in the northern sub-union remains with McCarthy's Ruapehu but only just, as strong grafting was nearly undone by Taihape's helter-skelter attacking as the defending Tasman Tanning Premier champions held on 23-20 at Rochfort Park on Saturday. On a weekend of cliffhanger Premier semifinals, Ruapehu stayed barely ahead inside