You are here
Home > RugbyHeartland News > Rippa Rugby stars fly their provincial colours at national competition

Rippa Rugby stars fly their provincial colours at national competition

rippa-rugby-champRippa Rugby stars fly their provincial colours at national competition

winner2013 winners Holy Cross School, Auckland

Provincial pride will be on the line when 200 of the country’s best Rippa Rugby players compete for the national title in Wellington on 8 and 9 September.

The fourth annual Rippa Rugby Championship brings together 20 teams made up of year six boys and girls representing ITM Cup and Pink Batts Heartland Championship provinces.

General Manager Community and Provincial Union Rugby, Brent Anderson said the Rippa Rugby Championship was an exciting opportunity for kids to represent not just their school, but also their province.

“Many players will be wearing their province’s colours for the first time. It’s a big deal and the kids take it very seriously. For some it will be their first time on a plane and their first visit to the capital. They will be representing their school as provincial union tournament winners with an enormous amount of pride. You never know, there may be future All Blacks and Black Ferns among the teams.”

Mr Anderson said the tournament continued to grow with over 600 schools playing in competitions to find the teams to represent each province.

He said because teams are made up of both boys and girls, all schools could easily pull together a team. As a result smaller, rural schools would compete against larger schools.

This year two teams return for the fourth year in a row as champions of their province; Roscommon School representing Counties Manukau and Arrowtown School wearing Otago’s colours. In 2013 Holy Cross School representing Auckland won the title.

Rippa Rugby is a safe, non-contact form of rugby aimed at primary school-aged children where instead of tackling, players rip velcro-fastened tags off each other’s waists. The games are seven minutes each way.

The tournament is taking place with the support of New Zealand Community Trust and New Zealand Rugby’s Principal Partner adidas.

Tournament details

  • Where: Wakefield Park, Berhampore, Wellington
  • When: Monday 8 September and Tuesday 9 September
  • Kick off: 10.20am Monday 8 September
  • Final: 1.15pm, Tuesday 9 September
  • Full draw at Click Here

Participating teams

Auckland Wymondley School
Bay of Plenty Te Akau ki Papamoa Primary
Canterbury Paparoa St School
Counties Manukau Roscommon School
Hawke’s Bay Te Mata School
Manawatu Riverdale School
North Harbour Marina View School
Northland Tikipunga Primary School
Otago Arrowtown School
Poverty Bay Awapuni School
Southland Limehills School
South Canterbury Pleasant Point School
Taranaki Waitara East School
Tasman Henley School
Thames Valley Waihi East Primary School
Waikato St Mary’s Catholic School
Wairarapa Bush Martinborough School
Wanganui Hunterville School
Wellington Tairangi School
West Coast Paroa School



Similar Articles