You are here
Home > RugbyHeartland News > 2014 Steinlager Rugby Awards nominees

2014 Steinlager Rugby Awards nominees

NZ_MEDIA20142014 Steinlager Rugby Awards nominees
Richie McCaw, Brodie Retallick, Aaron Smith up for
Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year

After a successful season where they retained their number one world ranking for the fifth consecutive year the All Blacks dominate the nominations for the 2014 Steinlager Rugby Awards.

The All Blacks are nominated for the adidas Team of the Year, Steve Hansen is in line for Coach of the Year, Richie McCaw, Brodie Retallick and Aaron Smith, are all nominated for the Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year.

Under Hansen’s guidance the All Blacks equalled the record of 17 consecutive victories by a major nation, secured a clean sweep in the Steinlager Series against England, won the Bledisloe Cup for a 12th year in a row and a third successive Investec Rugby Championship title and returned home undefeated from the MyRepublic Northern Tour.

Their success was recognised earlier this week by their international peers when they were named World Rugby Team of the Year; Hansen; Coach of the Year and Retallick; Player of the Year.

The All Blacks are joined as nominees for adidas Team of the Year by Auckland Storm who picked up their seventh straight Women’s Provincial Championship title, and this year’s ITM Cup Championship and Premiership winners, Manawatu Turbos and TenderLink Taranaki.

Taranaki’s fairy tale claim on their first ITM Cup Premiership title, coupled with the Maori All Blacks successful two match tour of Japan sees the coach of both teams; Colin Cooper receive a nod for Coach of the Year. Also recognised for propelling Tasman into their first ITM Cup premiership final is Makos coach Kieran Keane.

Jerome Kaino’s formidable return to top level rugby in this year’s Investec Super Rugby season along with stand-out Crusaders wing Nemani Nadolo, and the ever impressive Chief’s lock Brodie Retallick see all three receive well deserved nominations for the Investec Super Rugby Player of the Year.

The New Zealand Women’s Sevens team secured their second successive Women’s Sevens Series title this year, earning regular team members Sarah Goss, Kayla McAlister and Tyla Nathan-Wong nominations for Women’s Sevens Player of the Year.

The All Blacks Sevens won their fourth consecutive World Series title this year. Captain DJ Forbes was again the team’s lynchpin and along with Scott Curry earned spots in the IRB Sevens Dream Team of the Year. They, along with the 2013 IRB Sevens Player of the Year Tim Mikkelson, are nominated for the Richard Crawshaw Memorial Sevens Player of the Year.

The Steinlager Salver Award recognising a person’s exceptional contribution to New Zealand rugby will also be announced on the night.

The 2014 Steinlager Rugby Awards will be held at the Viaduct Events Centre on Thursday, 11 December and broadcast on SKY Sport.

2014 Steinlager Rugby Awards nominations

New Zealand Rugby Age Grade Player of the Year

  • Mitchell Karpik
  • Damian McKenzie
  • Sio Tomkinson

Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year

  • Dean File
  • Mike Nitz
  • Trudie van Leeuwen-Cruthers

New Zealand Rugby Referee of the Year

  • Jessica Beard
  • Nick Briant
  • Glen Jackson

Pink Batts Heartland Championship Player of the Year

  • Josh Clark
  • James Lash
  • Gary Redmond

New Zealand Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year

  • Sarah Goss
  • Kayla McAlister
  • Tyla Nathan-Wong

Richard Crawshaw Memorial Sevens Player of the Year

  • Scott Curry
  • DJ Forbes
  • Tim Mikkelson

Sky Television Fans Try of the Year

  • Beauden Barrett; Hurricanes v Highlanders
  • Malakai Fekitoa; Sharks v Highlanders
  • Alapati Leiua; Crusaders v Hurricanes

ITM Cup Player of the Year

  • Shane Christie
  • Nehe Milner-Skudder
  • Seta Tamanivalu

Investec Super Rugby Player of the Year

  • Jerome Kaino
  • Nemani Nadolo
  • Brodie Retallick

Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year

  • Liam Messam
  • Charlie Ngatai
  • Aaron Smith

New Zealand Rugby Women’s Player of the Year

  • Rawinia Everitt
  • Fiao’o Fa’amausili
  • Amiria Rule

New Zealand Rugby Coach of the Year

  • Colin Cooper
  • Steve Hansen
  • Kieran Keane

adidas Team of the Year

  • All Blacks
  • Auckland Storm
  • Manawatu Turbos
  • TenderLink Taranaki

Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year

  • Richie McCaw
  • Brodie Retallick
  • Aaron Smith

Similar Articles

%d bloggers like this: