You are here
Home > Club Rugby > New Zealand club rugby round-up 18 April

New Zealand club rugby round-up 18 April

New Zealand club rugby round-up 18 April

Nationwide club rugby competitions are in full gallop, with a series of stirring matches played around New Zealand on Saturday 18 April.

Christchurch Hawkins Cup club rugby came alive with Lincoln University and New Brighton both maintaining their unbeaten records after four rounds with close wins. Lincoln saw off the challenge of winless HSOB 32-29 and New Brighton beat Linwood 28-25. In another noted result, Canterbury University beat defending champions Sydenham 42-41.

Down the road in Dunedin, Southern are the only unbeaten side after six rounds of the Metropolitan competition, beating Dunedin 40-17. Defending champions Taieri made it five from six with an exciting 42-29 win over University A, while Kaikorai defeated Green Island 34-17 in a bottom of the table clash.

Tasman Trophy leaders Waimea were given a fright by winless Nelson before taking their fifth straight victory, a 28-25 win. Central, the other unbeaten team after the first month, had the bye.

In Wellington, defending championship winners Hutt Old Boys Marist beat Petone 32-25 to re-claim the famous McBain Shield interclub trophy. HOBM, Tawa and Marist St Pat’s are the three unbeaten sides after five rounds. Tawa defeated Old Boys University 32-29 and MSP held off Wainuiomata 22-16. The Wellington Axemen club have risen to fifth on the standings with a 29-26 win over Northern United.

College Old Boys continue to set a cracking pace in Manawatu club rugby, beating Kia Toa 38-5. COB have now scored 276 points and conceded 48 so far this season.

Defending champions Inglewood lowered New Plymouth Old Boys’ colours in the game of the round in Taranaki. Inglewood beat previously unbeaten NPOB 19-14. Spotswood beat Tukapa 37-33 in a thriller.

The Nash Cup in Hawke’s Bay sees Taradale and Napier Pirates as the two unbeaten sides after the opening month. Taradale beat winless Tamatea 114-0 and Pirates fought hard for their 22-10 win over Napier Technical.

Tauranga Sports lead the Western Bay of Plenty Premier competition with a 19-6 win over Te Puna. Mt Maunganui defeated Greerton Marist and Te Puke Sports overcame Rangataua 26-8 in the other match in this division. The Baywide Premier competition starts on 2 May.

Otorohanga battled to a 6-0 win over Melville in the top of the table clash in Waikato Premier rugby. Otorohanga remain the outright leaders, but Melville have been leapfrogged into second by defending champions Hamilton Marist who defeated mid-table Hautapu 26-14. University are now in clear fourth after defeating winless United Matamata Sports 34-5 and Hamilton Old Boys made a move up the table by beating Te Awamatu Sports 37-14.

Pukekohe made it six from six in the the Counties Manukau Challenge Cup competition, beating Bombay 23-12. Karaka and Ardmore Marist are second and third with five wins each, after Karaka beat Te Kauwhata 83-0 and Ardmore Marist defeated Papakura 48-5.

Pakuranga and University (Blue Pool) and Marist and Manukau (White Pool) are the unbeaten teams after the opening two rounds of the Auckland Premier club rugby competition.

Pakuranga, University and Marist all earned high scoring wins, while the Manukau Rovers edged Ponsonby in the day’s closest result of the seven matches contested.

Massey and Glenfield are both undefeated after the first four weeks of the North Harbour Premier Buck Shelford competition. Massey beat winless Marist 59-17 and Glenfield overcame Northcote 35-24. Defending champions North Shore went down to East Coast Bays 35-30.

Wellsford are the only unbeaten side through three rounds of the Northland Southern Districts Premier competition after they beat Otamatea 28-6. In the closest result of the round, Old Boys Marist beat Hora Hora 25-24.

To view the news / results from our current Heartland Championship partners

For a result wrap-up of other club rugby competitions please see below (note of the results available as at Sunday morning):

Bay of Plenty

Central Bay of Plenty:
Waikite 27 v Kahukura 6
Rotoiti 12 v Whakarewarewa 3
Marist St Michael’s 27 v Ngongotaha 6

Eastern Bay of Plenty:
Opotiki 58 vs Ruatoki 3
Te Teko 20 vs Whakatane Marist 20
Paroa 24 vs Poroporo 7

Western Bay of Plenty:
Mt Maunganui 23 vs Greerton 0
Te Puke Sports 26 vs Rangataua 8
Tauranga Sports 19 vs Te Puna 6

Central Otago
Maniototo 76 – Wakatipu Wanderers 3.
Matakanui Mudfish 25 Cromwell – 19
Wakatipu 36 Roxburgh – 16
Alexandra 22 Arrowtown  8

Counties Manukau
Karaka 83 – Te Kauwhata 0
Waiuku 35 – Onewhero 29
Drury 15 – Weymouth 13
Patumahoe 32 – Manurewa 8
Ardmore Marist 48 – Papakura 5
Pukekohe 23 – Bombay 12

Shannon 22 – COB 10
Paraparaumu 20 – Waikanae 10
Foxton 20 – Levin Athletic 15

College Old Boys 38 – Kia Toa 5
Old Boys Marist 41 – Linton Army 17 
Feilding Old Boys Oroua 34 – Te Kawau 29 
Feilding 60 – Freyberg 12
Varsity – BYE

Northland (Southern Districts Premiers)
Waipu 13 – Western 18
Mid Northern 47 – Kamo 17
Old Boys Marist 25 – Hora hora 24
Wellsford 28 – Otamatea 6
Western Sharks 34 – Hikurangi 12

North Otago
Old Boys 42 – Excelsior 15
Athletic Marist 31 – Kurow 13
Valley 26 – Maheno 19

Southern:40 – Dunedin:17
Taieri:42 – University:29
Harbour:38 – Alhambra-Union:12
Pirates:26 – Zingari-Richmond:23
Kaikorai:34 – Green Island:17

South Canterbury
Celtic 43 – Old Boys 10
Harlequins 61 – Geraldine 14
Mackenzie 31 – Temuka 25
Waimate 40 – Pleasant Point 16

Waimea 28 – Nelson 25
Wanderers 29 – Marist 19
Kahurangi 39 – Stoke 12
Harlequins 25 – Moutere 16
Waitohi 51 – Renwick 19

Thames Valley
Cobras 43 – West 0
North 25 – Waihi 10
Tairua 18 – Waihou 12
Mercury Bay 14- Ngatea 0

University 34 – UMS 5
Hamilto Marist 26 – Hautapu 14
Morrinsville Sports 36 – Fraser Tech 7
Hamilton Old Boys 37 – Te Awamutu Sports 14
Otorohanga 6 – Melville 0

Club Rugby | 19 April 2015 | Steven White

Similar Articles

%d bloggers like this: