You are here
Home > RugbyHeartland News > Black Ferns touring squad for San Diego named

Black Ferns touring squad for San Diego named

Black Ferns touring squad for San Diego named

North Harbour prop Olivia Ward-Duin has been called in as injury cover for the Black Ferns squad for the 2019 Women’s Rugby Super Series, named today.

Head Coach Glenn Moore has selected a 30-strong squad to travel to San Diego on Saturday evening.

The squad is (Test caps in brackets, new caps in bold):

Forne Burkin Canterbury
Luka Connor Bay of Plenty
Te Kura Ngata-Aerengamate (23) Counties Manukau

Phillipa Love (7) Canterbury
Toka Natua (16) Waikato
Aleisha-Pearl Nelson (29) Auckland
Leilani Perese (5) Counties Manukau
Olivia Ward-Duin North Harbour

Eloise Blackwell (37) Auckland
Karli Faneva Bay of Plenty
Joanah Ngan-Woo Wellington
Charmaine Smith (21) Auckland

Loose Forwards
Les Elder (Captain, 13) Bay of Plenty
Charmaine McMenamin (19) Auckland
Marcelle Parkes (2) Wellington
Kennedy Simon Waikato
Pia Tapsell North Harbour

Kendra Cocksedge (Co-vice captain, 47) Canterbury
Arihiana Marino-Tauhinu Counties Manukau

Chelsea Alley (18) Waikato
Kelly Brazier (37) Bay of Plenty
Krysten Cottrell (5) Hawke’s Bay
Ruahei Demant (2) Auckland
Theresa Fitzpatrick (9) Auckland

Outside Backs
Carla Hohepa (19) Waikato
Ayesha Leti-I’iga (3) Wellington
Natahlia Moors (1) Auckland
Alena Saili (2) Southland
Renee Wickliffe (35) Bay of Plenty
Selica Winiata (Co-vice captain, 36) Manawatu

Moore said Ward-Duin was called in late to the squad to cover for 20-Test cap Aldora Itunu who was recovering from a knee injury.

“Olivia has been part of our wider Black Ferns training squad for the past couple of years so she’s familiar with the high performance environment. This is her opportunity to work hard, learn from those around her, and take her game to the next level.

“We wish Aldora well in her recovery and are hopeful she can be considered for the Laurie O’Reilly Memorial Trophy matches in August.”

Moore said Ward-Duin wouldn’t be alone in the rookie category as his squad included six new caps and Joanah Ngan-Woo (Wellington) and Arihiana Marino-Tauhinu (Counties Manukau) who have been named in previous squads and are yet to make their debut.

“This is a very exciting squad – a real mix of experienced players and younger players ready to make their mark.
“We will be facing four of the top teams in the world in USA, Canada, France and England – it’s going to be fantastic festival of rugby,” he said.

The squad assembles in Auckland tomorrow evening and media are invited to attend training sessions, details are below.

Black Ferns 2019 schedule
Women’s Rugby Super Series 2019 in San Diego, USA
Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center

    • Saturday, 29 June v Canada Kickoff: 11am (NZT)
      Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center

    • Wednesday, 3 July v USA Kickoff: 12.15pm (NZT)
      Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center

    • Sunday, 7 July v France Kickoff: 9.15am (NZT)
      San Diego State University’s Torero Stadium

    • Monday, 15 July v England Kickoff: 8am (NZT)
      Laurie O’Reilly Memorial Trophy  Optus Stadium, Perth

    • Saturday 10 August
      v Australia (With All Blacks v Australia)
      Kickoff: 7pm (NZT) Eden Park, Auckland

    • Saturday 17 August
      v Australia (With All Blacks v Australia)
      Kickoff: 5pm (NZT)

All matches will be screened live on SKY Sport, details to come.


Similar Articles

%d bloggers like this: