You are here
Home > RugbyHeartland News > Draw confirmed for 2021 NZ Barbarians U85 National Club Cup

Draw confirmed for 2021 NZ Barbarians U85 National Club Cup

Draw confirmed for 2021 NZ Barbarians U85 National Club Cup

New Zealand Rugby (NZR) has announced the draw for the 2021 NZ Barbarians Under 85kg National Club Cup, with 45 teams from across 12 Provincial Unions set to compete.

U85 Club Cup Ambassador and Former All Blacks Coach, Sir Graham Henry, was part of the live draw that took part in Auckland, for New Zealand’s fastest growing rugby tournament.

Henry said it was exciting to see the growth the U85 Club Cup had experienced since last year’s inaugural event, and even more so to witness the start of a strong comeback for weight-restricted rugby throughout New Zealand.

“We all know the excitement our professional competitions create, so it’s great to see the buzz the Cup is creating throughout the community rugby, and the power it has to bring together teams from as far north as Kumeu, right down to Dunedin.

“The Cup is reinvigorating a grade of rugby that was an unappreciated gem. It’s creating the opportunity for our under 85kg players to compete in a national competition, and to play in some of our top stadiums, that may otherwise not exist.”

Some of the key match-ups from today’s draw include a repeat of the tightly contested 2020 Quarter Final between Auckland University’s Squids and Karaka Razzlers from Counties-Manukau. Newcomers Kahukura formed specifically for the tournament from the Bay of Plenty will travel from Rotorua to play East Coast Bays at North Harbour. Champions Eden Lizards, one of several teams with a first round bye, will play the winner of the Kahurangi versus East Coast Bays.

Proudly supported by New Zealand Barbarian Rugby Football Club, the U85 Club Cup sees the country’s top under 85kg men’s teams compete in a regional knock-out competition, culminating in national final.

NZ Barbarian RFC President Bernie Allen, who was also in attendance for the draw, said the Barbarians were pleased to be able to support the competition.

“We are really passionate about the amateur game and the opportunities this competition offers to middle-weight rugby players at a national level. We are proud to be part of this and look forward to round one kicking off in the coming months.”

Now in its second year, the weight-restricted national competition is set to be bigger and better than ever, with twice as many teams geared to compete – up from 19 teams across five Provincial Unions in 2020.

While the schedule has yet to be finalised, NZR Participation Development Manager Mike Hester, said they were looking forward to showcasing the games on a wider platform, including televised curtain raisers to high profile games – providing a fantastic opportunity to shine a spotlight on this re-emerging grade.

“It’s great for those players who live in areas where there isn’t an under 85kg grade to have the opportunity to take the field and represent their club on a national stage.

“We’re really looking forward to this competition getting bigger and better every year.”


Northern Region

    • Round One:
      Suburb Stallions v NZ Forestry Tukapa
      ECB Mayfield Sportshouse 85 v Kahukura
      Pakuranga United Taipans v Hauraki North
      Auckland University Debt Collectors v Kumeu 85s
      North Shore Hairy Goats v College Rifles Raiders
      Melville 85s v Onewhero 85s
      Takapuna Bombers v Morrinsville Sports Majestic Pukekos
      Leamington Longhorns v Fraser Tech
      Auckland University Legends v Grammar TEC Nga Taniwhas
      Auckland University Squids v Karaka Razzlers

Clubs with a bye to round 2:
Hamilton Marist
Ponsonby Hustlers
Auckland Marist Old Boys MOB
Old Boys Grammar TEC
Eden Lizards
University of Waikato Varsity Stags
Pukekohe Pirates
Elevate Roofing Massey 85’s
Hamilton Old Boys Wolfpack

    • Round two:
      Ponsonby Hustlers v Hamilton Old Boys Wolfpack
      Grammar TEC Old Boys v (Leamington Longhorns/Fraser Tech)
      (North Shore Hairy Goats/College Rifles Raiders) v (Auckland University Legends/Grammar TEC Nga Taniwhas)
      Auckland Marist Old Boys MOB v (Auckland University Debt Collectors/Kumeu 85s)
      Patumahoe v Hamilton Marist
      University of Waikato Varsity Stags v (Takapuna Bombers/Morrinsville Sports Majestic Pukekos)
      (ECB Mayfield Sportshouse 85/Kahukura) v Eden Lizards
      (Melville 85s/Onewhero 85s) v Pukekohe Pirates
      (Suburb Stallions/NZ Forestry Tukapa) v Elevate Roofing Massey 85’s
      (Auckland University Squids/Karaka Razzlers) v (Pakuranga United Taipans/Hauraki North)

Central Region

    • Round one:
      Johnsonville Terrahawks v Central Rugby Club

Clubs with bye to round 2:
Petone Villagers
Eastbourne Gulls
Real Steel Upper Hutt Rams
Poneke The Bond 85s
Old Boys University Scallywags
Hutt Old Boys Marist Howlers
Avalon Wolves
Marist St Pats Reds
Wellington FC Axemen

    • Round two:
      Eastbourne Gulls v Hutt Old Boys Marist Howlers
      Old Boys University Scallywags v Real Steel Upper Hutt Rams
      Wellington FC Axemen v Marist St Pats Reds
      Poneke The Bond 85s v Petone Villagers
      Avalon Wolves v (Johnsonville Terrahawks/Central Rugby Club)

Southern Region

    • Round one:
      Pleasant Point Mud Dogs v Sassenachs Rugby Club
      Lincoln Short-Finned Eels v University of Canterbury Black Mambas
    • Round two:
      (Pleasant Point Mud Dogs/Sassenachs Rugby Club) v (Lincoln Short-Finned Eels/University of Canterbury Black Mambas

*home and away team to be decided at later stage


Similar Articles

%d bloggers like this: