You are here
Home > RugbyHeartland News > 2014 Hurricanes U18 team has been named to face a Wellington U19 trial team

2014 Hurricanes U18 team has been named to face a Wellington U19 trial team

wellingtonThe 2014 Hurricanes U18 team has been named to face a Wellington U19 trial team in a one-off match at Porirua Park on Monday.

The U18 team is based on a long tradition, and has been selected from all age-eligible players from the eight provincial unions aligned to the Hurricanes club.

The first Central Regions Schools team (the fore-runner of the Hurricanes U18 team) was formed 35 years ago in 1979, where it played and defeated an English Schools team at Athletic Park.

A New Zealand Secondary Schools Regional Tournament was then established in 1986. The Regional Tournament saw teams play for the Barbarian Shield, of which the Hurricanes won in 2004, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2010, before losing it to the Blues in the final year of the competition in 2011.

The U18 team also played the Australian Secondary Schools team in 2006 and 2008, winning both matches.

The team was reformed in 2013, playing a one-off fixture against a Chiefs U18 selection in Taupo.

The U18s have this week taken part in a gruelling camp held in Feilding, where they have been drilled, analysed, and educated on the game of rugby. While the camp finished at 12pm today, the work isn’t over for those who have been selected to play next week.

Monday’s match at Porirua Park will kick off at 6.30pm, and is free for spectators.

The team to face the Wellington U19 trialists is;
Max Fryatt (Feilding High School)
Luther Hirini (Feilding High School)
Alex Hawira (Feilding High School)
Mason Kean (Hastings Boys’ High School)
Ben Power (Hutt International Boys’ School)
Anthony Pettett (Newlands College)
Patrick Fenika (Scots College)
Peter Umaga-Jensen (Scots College)
Malo Tuitama (Scots College)
TJ Va’a (Scots College)
Jarrod Adams (St Pat’s Silverstream)
Losi Filipo (St Pat’s Silverstream)
Delano Morkel (St Pat’s Silverstream)
Lui Okeamoa-Luamanu (St Pat’s Silverstream)
Leni Apisai (Wellington Academy)
Kemara Hauiti-Parapara (Wellington College)
Pepesana Patafilo (Wellington College)
Sam Tufuga (Rathkeale College)
Isaia Walker-Leawere (Gisborne Boys’ High School)
Hayden Spencer (Palmerston North Boys’ High School)
Mason Emerson (Lindisfarne College)
Caleb Makene (Napier Boy’s High School)
Te Atuarere Albert (Wanganui Collegiate)

Coaches: Darren Larsen (Wellington), Earl Va’a (Wellington), Tom Cairns (Poverty Bay)
Manager: Nick Reid
Trainer: James Dickie (Wellington)



10% Discount at PlayersRugby , off the Normal RRP
by entering the code “rugbyredefined

Similar Articles

%d bloggers like this: