You are here
Home > ITM Cup > Steelers 2014 ITM Cup Squad Announced

Steelers 2014 ITM Cup Squad Announced

countFollowing their two Ranfurly Shield matches in the past eight days, Steelers coaches Tana Umaga, Grant Henson and Glen Rowe have named their 2014 ITM Cup Squad.

The squad is a mixture of established Steelers who were part of the team who won the Ranfurly Shield in 2013 for the first time in the Union’s history, some seasoned campaigners and young talent coming through the Counties Manukau system.

All the players in the squad with the exception of Chiefs prop Pauliasi Manu and South African Mike Lawrenson have either played age group rugby for Counties Manukau teams previously or currently play club rugby in the Counties Manukau.

Steelers Head Coach Tana Umaga said “We are really please with the squad we have got. We know this is an extremely tough competition and we have picked players we believe have the drive and motivation to do well.

“The last few months have provided a great opportunity to see the talent we have in our region through our Cavaliers programme and we are committed to continually developing that. We have nine players who have their first contract with us and the majority of them have earned that largely due to their form during club rugby and the Cavaliers.”

Highly impressed by the support the region showed the Steelers last year Umaga hopes they turn out again for his side.

“It is a big year for us and we have had tremendous support from our region, especially from our sponsors and fans. We had great crowds at our ITM Cup Ranfurly Shield matches last year so we hope that continues this season.”

2014 Steelers ITM Cup Squad

Bundee Aki (Midfield) Karaka
Sione Anga’aelangi (Hooker) Karaka *
Onasai’i Auva’a (Loose Forward) Ardmore Marist *
Sean Bagshaw (Prop) Onewhero *
Adam Cathcart (Loose Forward) Onewhero
Jarrod Firth (Prop) Ardmore Marist
Frank Halai (Winger) Pukekohe
Kane Hancy (Halfback) Patumahoe
Dan Hyatt (Loose Forward) Waiuku*
Baden Kerr (First Five) Karaka
Mike Lawrenson (Lock) * Kutztown University
Rey Lee-lo (Midfield) Karaka
Sikeli Nabou (Lock) Ardmore Marist
Tim Nanai-Williams (Fullback) Manurewa
Pauliasi Manu (Prop) Chiefs *
Jared Page (Fullback) Pukekohe *
Augustine Pulu (Halfback) Karaka
Toni Pulu (Winger) Bombay
Ronald Raaymakers (Lock/6) Waiuku
Sherwin Stowers (Winger) Ardmore Marist
Jordan Taufua (Loose Forward) Crusaders *
Suliasi Taufalele (Hooker) Ardmore Marist
Ahsee Tuala (First Five) Manurewa
Jimmy Tupou (Lock/Loose Forward) Patumahoe
John Tu’ungafasi (Prop) Pukekohe *
Maama Vaipulu (Loose Forward) Pukekohe
Sam Vaka (Centre) Bombay



10% Discount at PlayersRugby , off the Normal RRP
by entering the code “rugbyredefined

Similar Articles

%d bloggers like this: