You are here
Home > RugbyHeartland News > Top U18 Players Selected For 2015 Hurricanes Development Camp

Top U18 Players Selected For 2015 Hurricanes Development Camp

hurricanes_youthTop Under 18 Players Selected For 2015 Development Camp

57 of the Hurricanes region’s top under 18 years of age rugby players, have been selected to take part in the annual Development Camp being held in Feilding, from 6 to 10 July.

Representing 21 different secondary schools, 17 of the players are from Wellington, 15 from Hawkes Bay, 11 from Manawatu, 6 from Poverty Bay, 4 from Wairarapa-Bush, 3 from Wanganui and 1 from East Coast.

Camp Director and Hurricanes Development Coach Darren Larsen is looking forward to working with those who’ve been selected.

“The Camp is run by a group of the region’s top rugby development people, including trainers, nutritionists and mental skills coaches. We aim that the Camp will help those selected to take another step forward in the achievement of their rugby goals.”

Convenor of Selectors, David King said the quality of those nominated by their schools made the process of selecting a final group to participate in the Camp a challenging task.

“The Hurricanes region is fortunate to have a large number of secondary schools offering strong rugby development for our teenage players, which made this year’s selection process particularly demanding. Of those nominated, we believe we have selected the best representation of skills and talent for 2015.”

The U18 Development Camp forms part of the comprehensive programme for teenage rugby administered by the Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council. Council Chairman, Gordon Noble-Campbell said.

“This Camp is but one of a number of exciting development opportunities for players in our region this year, including the Under 16 Tournament, Under 19 Seeding Tournament for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and the Under 20 Heartland Development Series.

We hope that all those selected for this Camp take full advantage of the opportunity they have been given.”

The players selected are as follows.

  • East Coast
    Te Ahiwaru Cirikidevita
  • Wanganui
    Chris Breuer, Daniel Kauika, and Stephen Perofeta
  • Wairarapa-Bush
    Levi Harmon, Bruce Kauika-Peterson, Ben Taylor, and Ueta Tufuga Piopa.
  • Hawkes Bay
    Tiaan Falcon, Tim Farrell, Mathias Konia, Mike Livingston, Lincoln McClutchie, Tyla McNeil, Marino Mikaele-Tuu, Antonio Mikaele-Tuu, Al Moimoisea, Wirangi Parata, Ethan Pritchard, Pouri Rakete-Stones, Jack Smith-Ballingall, Danny Toala, and William Tremain.
  • Manawatu
    Sione Asi, Chris Cairns, Tai Durie, Tevita Fehoko, Liam Giltrap, Braydon Iose, Jack Kinder, Vilimoni Korori, Jona Nareki, Thomas Stewart, and Regan Sword.
  • Poverty Bay
    Saigeon Carmichael, Angus McDonald, Hunter Mokomoko, Michael Tabudravu, Naera Tipoki, and Isaia Walker-Leawere.
  • Wellington
    Asafo Aumua, Josh Brown, Kevin Fauatea, Alex Fidow, Losi Filipo, Kemara Hauiti-Parapara, Jimmy Hewitt, Maile Koloto, Henry Mexted, Brandon Mudzekenyedzi, Sefo Numia, Ben Power, Billy Proctor, Jarimar Shuster, Thomas Umaga-Jensen, Peter Umaga-Jensen and Foliga Vaalepu-Austin.



Similar Articles

%d bloggers like this: