You are here
Home > Club Rugby > Strong year for New Zealand Rugby

Strong year for New Zealand Rugby

Nz_media14Strong year for New Zealand Rugby

  • Organization rated 79/100 for 2014 Scoreboard
  • David Rhodes new President
  • Glen Wahlstrom and Richard Dellabarca new Board Members
  • Andy Leslie new Life Member

Winning All Blacks, significant investment in the game, and agreement on broadcasting contracts capped off a satisfying 2014, New Zealand Rugby Chairman Brent Impey said today.

Speaking at the organisation’s 123rd AGM held in Wellington, Impey said 2014 was a year to be proud of.

“It was another year of great challenge, opportunity and achievement. On the field there were many pleasing performances by our men and women in black. Off the field this organisation ended the year financially strong and can face the future with continued confidence,” he said.

“The platform for our continued success relies on our game being financially strong and well led over the long haul.

“In 2014 we renewed several significant sponsorships and we signed a heads of agreement with our world class broadcast partner SKY for another five year term from 2016. A major proportion of New Zealand Rugby’s income is already secure with Principal Partner adidas and Major Global Sponsor AIG also contracted for the medium term.”

As previously announced, New Zealand Rugby earned a profit of $373,000 in 2014, its third successive year in the black. Cash reserves were slightly down at $62.6 million.

“Our profit in 2014 was a modest one, but one that underlines the fundamental fact that we are making substantial investments for the good of the game. We maximise revenue to ensure we can keep investing in the game at a level which is consistent with our reserves policy,” he said.

Other highlights of 2014 were:

  • Registered players topped 150,000 for the first time with the number of female players increasing by 1912, or 12 per cent, to 17,825
  • The All Blacks claimed every trophy they competed for,  retained their number one world ranking and were named World Rugby Team of the Year for the fifth successive year
  • The All Blacks Sevens and New Zealand Women’s Sevens teams won their respective World Series titles
  • Successful hosting of the Junior World Championship – the second biggest global rugby tournament – for the first time
  • The first Jock Hobbs Memorial National Under 19 Tournament in Taupo
  • Provincial Unions recorded a collective surplus for the third successive year

The 2014 Annual Report is available at Please click here.

Solid 2014 Scoreboard result for organisation
New Zealand Rugby’s performance is measured against a range of indicators aligned to the organizations Towards 2016 Strategy. In 2014 the organisation achieved a score of 79/100 compared to 82/100 for 2013.

Chief Executive Steve Tew said the result was a very solid one and above the average for the past five years.

“2014 was a year we can be proud of, but there is always plenty more we can do. While we largely achieved what we set out to in terms of the All Blacks, our financial and commercial work, and managing our key relationships, we did miss our targets in a number of key areas.

“The All Blacks Sevens, New Zealand Under 20 and Black Ferns did not achieve the on-field results we set for them and we did not achieve the retention rate increases for Small Blacks, teenagers and referees as well as some viewership and attendance targets for our domestic competitions.”

David Rhodes becomes New Zealand Rugby President
Long serving rugby administrator David Rhodes has been elected the new President of New Zealand Rugby. Rhodes succeeds former All Black Ian MacRae who retired after completing his two year term. He has a long track record in rugby as a player, coach and administrator. He is a former chairman of Canterbury Rugby and Crusaders Board Member.

“We welcome David to the Presidency and wish him all the best during the next two exciting years for New Zealand Rugby,” said Brent Impey.

Chairman of the New Zealand Rugby Foundation, Maurice Trapp, was elected Vice President. Trapp is a former Auckland coach and long-time administrator in Auckland and Hawke’s Bay.

Two new Board Members
As a result of constitutional changes approved at a Special General Meeting held in December 2014, there was only one Elected Board Member vacancy in 2015.

Auckland Rugby Chairman Glenn Wahlstrom was elected to the Board.

“We look forward to having Glenn around the Board table,” said Impey.

“He knows the challenges facing both the professional and community game. That, coupled with his considerable commercial experience at a senior management  level, means he is well placed to help us deal with the issues and opportunities ahead over the next three years.”

The Special General Meeting in December also approved an additional Appointed Board Member.

The Appointments and Remuneration Committee appointed director and executive Richard Dellabarca as the new Appointed Board Member. He has recently returned to New Zealand after 15 years offshore in a variety of CEO, CFO and director positions in finance technology.

“Richard brings a fresh perspective having recently returned to New Zealand after a successful commercial career in Europe and we look forward to his contribution,” said Impey.

New Zealand Maori Rugby Board Chairman Wayne Peters was re-elected as the Maori representative, defeating Wairarapa RFU Chairman and Wairarapa Maori Rugby Chairman Paora Ammunson.

Andy Leslie new Life Member
All Black no.731 and former captain Andy Leslie was elected a Life Member at the AGM. Impey said Leslie had made a significant contribution to rugby over many years. He had served as a Vice President and President of NZRU, was a founding member and trustee of the New Zealand Rugby Foundation and in 2001 was made a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to rugby.

Background information

David Rhodes

  • Lengthy involvement in rugby as player, coach and administrator
  • Canterbury RFU Board for 12 years, including six years as Chairman
  • Crusaders Board for seven years
  • New Zealand Rugby Union Vice President 2013 to 2015

Maurice Trapp

  • Chairman of New Zealand Rugby Foundation 1997 – present
  • Coach / Selector of Auckland NPC team 1987 – 1991
  • Helped Hawkes Bay establish one of the first Provincial Union Boards in 1995
  • Auckland Rugby representative player, coach , Director, President

Glenn Wahlstrom

  • Chairman Auckland Rugby Union and Blues Director
  • Former first class referee – 127 matches including six Tests
  • General Manager Sealy NZ
  • Senior management positions at Pacific Brands and Dunlop (1991-2009)

Richard Dellabarca

  • Chartered accountant and lawyer
  • Chairman ICAP Derivatives and Securities Exchange (UK regulated stock exchange) and Solvency 11 Solutions
  • CEO Klickex Group (2014)
  • CFO SL-x (2012-2014)

Andy Leslie

  • All Black 1974 to 1976, including ten Tests as captain.
  • New Zealand Rugby Union Vice President 2005 – 2007, President 2007 – 2009
  • Founding and continuing trustee of New Zealand Rugby Foundation
  • New Zealand Order of Merit for services to rugby
  • Life Member of Wellington RFU, Centurions RFC, and Petone RFC



Similar Articles

%d bloggers like this: