You are here
Home > RugbyHeartland News > Auckland, Counties Manukau claim Northern titles

Auckland, Counties Manukau claim Northern titles

Getty Images

Auckland won the men’s northern regional sevens championship when beating Counties Manukau 26-12 in the final at Cambridge on Sunday while Counties Manukau reversed the result in the women’s draw.

baileys_sevensThe seedings for the men’s National Sevens next month are:

  • 1. Auckland
  • 2. Hawke’s Bay
  • 3. Counties Manukau
  • 4. Waikato
  • 5. Manawatu
  • 6. North Harbour
  • 7. Otago
  • 8. Northland
  • 9. Bay of Plenty
  • 10. Wellington
  • 11. Wanganui
  • 12. Tasman
  • 13. Canterbury
  • 14. Mid Canterbury
  • 15. Taranaki
  • 16. South Canterbury

The seedings for the women’s finals are:

  • 1.Counties Manukau
  • 2.Manawatu
  • 3.Auckland
  • 4.Waikato
  • 5.Wellington
  • 6.Wairarapa Bush
  • 7.Canterbury
  • 8.North Harbour
  • 9.Otago
  • 10.Tasman

Auckland qualified for the men’s final by heading off North Harbour in a tight semi-final which required a goalline-to-goalline run by Sam Livingstone to break a 12-12 deadlock for the 19-12 win.

Counties Manukau had to go to extra time when tied 12-12 with Waikato at fulltime but managed the golden point try to qualify for the final.

Mistakes marred the first few minutes of the final before Auckland’s Ed Fidow took hold of proceedings to blast off a short pass and race away for the opening try.

Counties Manukau came back and while hesitating on a break down the sideline and losing the feed to a scrum after a maul, Auckland were penalised for collapsing and in the aftermath Savelio Ropati crossed out wide.

But Fidow made the most of a run down the sideline, and a kick to the in-goal area, to win the race to the touchdown millimetres from the deadball line.

Into the second half Gareth Williams-Spiers scored for Auckland to get out to a 19-5 lead.

Counties Manukau gave themselves a chance when Desma Liaina scored to pull the margin back to 19-12 but failure to complete the chance they created allowed Williams-Spiers to finish off a length-of-the-field move to score on fulltime.

Waikato contested an entertaining play-off for third and fourth with North Harbour before claiming a 28-26 win. Epeli Lotawa scored first for Waikato but Joshua Powell and 17-year-old James Little scored to give North Harbour a 12-7 lead.

Jerome Nanoa struck a double blow for Waikato within two minutes to see them skip out to a 21-12 lead and Luke Masirewa scored the fourth try which proved sufficient to provide a buffer against the fast-finishing North Harbour side who scored through Benjamin Smith and Theo Hermans.

In the women’s final Counties Manukau beat Auckland 33-22 for a deserved title.

Renee Wickliffe scored Counties Manukau’s first two tries, the second a dazzling solo effort which started out from the halfway line. Natahlia Moors and Theresa Fitzpatrick had given Auckland a 12-7 lead before Wickliffe scored her second, and they scored a length of the field try just before halftime with Charmaine Smith completing the effort.

A strong second half effort set up their win with Feofa’aki Piliu regaining the lead with Jonsal Tautari and Piliu scoring before Auckland finished with a consolation try for Tasha Tapu.

In the women’s play-off for third and fourth with the winner progressing to the national finals, Waikato withstood a late burst by North Harbour to claim a 15-14 win. Two tries to Terina Te Tamaki proved vital as Waikato’s tries were also scored wide out making conversions difficult. Emma Iversen and Florida Fatanitavake scored theirs for North Harbour beneath the posts.


MEN Semi Finals :
Auckland 19 v 12 North Harbour
Counties Manukau 17 vs 12 Waikato {GOLDEN POINT}

5th/6th Playoff : (Both Qualify for Nationals)
Northland 22 v 10 Bay of Plenty

3rd/4thPlayoff : (Both Qualify for Nationals)
Waikato 28 v 26 North Harbour

Womens 3rd/4th Playoff : (Waikato Qualifies for Nationals)
Waikato 15 v 14 North Harbour

WOMENS FINAL : (Both Qualify for Nationals)
Auckland 22 v 33 Counties Manukau

MENS FINAL : (Both Qualify for Nationals)
Auckland 26 v 12 Counties Manukau

Womens NR7s Champions : Counties Manukau
Mens NR7s Champions : Auckland



Men’s Pool matches :
Waikato 07 v 21 North Harbour
Auckland 38 v 00 Bay of Plenty
Northland 14 v 29 Counties Manukau
Waikato 10 v 14 Counties Manukau
Auckland 36 v 07 North Harbour
Northland 21 v 12 Bay of Plenty
Waikato 17 v 12 Bay of Plenty
Auckland 07 v 19 Counties Manukau
Northland 10 v 19 North Harbour

Women’s Pool matches :
Auckland 22 v 07 North Harbour
Waikato 22 v 00 Bay of Plenty
Counties Manukau 19 v 14 North Harbour
Auckland 17 v 07 Bay of Plenty Rugby
Counties Manukau 24 v 07 Waikato
Auckland 17 v 10 Waikato
North Harbour 24 v 12 Bay of Plenty
Auckland 17 v 07 Counties Manukau
Waikato 32 v 05 North Harbour




Similar Articles