You are here
Home > Club Rugby > New concept for Wellington Rugby

New concept for Wellington Rugby

Above: Action from the City and Suburbs match at Porirua Park in early May. 

A new and exciting rugby competition will kick off next month, featuring the top Premier rugby players from the Wellington region.

Four teams have been selected from the Jubilee and Hardham Cup competitions, to play each other over three consecutive weekends, starting on Saturday August 16 at Porirua Park.

The competition will involve a Wellington Samoan side, along with Wellington Maori, Wellington Suburbs, and Wellington City teams.

WRFU high performance manager Evan Crawford said the new concept would provide a great opportunity for the province’s best-performing Premier players to play at a higher level.”

For several years, the transition from club to representative rugby has been difficult for players and coaches alike -particularly for the selection of the Wellington Development team. This, coupled with the emergence of  Wellington Maori and Wellington Samoan organisations, provides a wonderful selection platform for the Wellington Development team coaches.”

Crawford said the three-week competition would finish with the naming of the Wellington Development team immediately after the final games on August 30.

The development team and the Wellington Samoan team will then compete in the Hurricanes region development series of matches, while the Wellington Maori will go on to play two traditional fixtures.

The selection of teams took some time, and followed a simple draft process to ensure an even spread of talent across all teams.

“We are all really excited about the new concept. It keeps players active during a time when representative teams, including the Ricoh Wellington Lions, need players to be fit and available,” Crawford said.

“It also provides more rugby for those who want it, plus opportunities for more coaches to develop their skills. It’s a win-win for us all.”


Saturday 16th August, Porirua Park
1pm / Wellington City vs Wellington Maori
2.30pm / Wellington Suburbs vs Wellington Samoans

Saturday 23rd August, Hutt Recreation Ground

1pm / Wellington City vs Wellington Samoans
2.30pm / Wellington Suburbs vs Wellington Maori

Saturday 30th August, Hataitai Park
1pm / Wellington City vs Wellington Suburbs 
2.30pm / Wellington Maori vs Wellington Samoans


City Team

Adam Stewart (Wellington)
Tevita Falekakala (Wellington)
Hunter Prescott (Oriental Rongotai)
Damian Winter (Wellington)
Vincent Sakaria (Marist St Pats)
Meto Mata’afa (Oriental Rongotai)
Nemani Waaka (Marist St Pats)
Augustine Escolona (Old Boys’ University)
Akuila Alatini (Avalon)
Pau Halafihi (Oriental Rongotai)
Mitchell Clarke (Old Boys University)
Mateaki Kafatolu (Petone)
Josh Hirstich (Petone)
Vaea Fafita (Wellington)
Matt Peni (Marist St Pats)
Peter Fa’atau (Oriental Rongotai)
Tomasi Palu (Old Boys University)
Isaac Mariner (Oriental Rongotai)
Matt O’Connor (Old Boys’ University)
Hilton Mexted (Wellington)
Vetelino Logie (Tawa)
Nick Grigg (Petone)
James Waddell (Old Boys University)
Afa Fa’atau (Oriental Rongotai)
Joe Hill (Old Boys University)
Andrew Wells (Marist St Pats)
Andrew Ellis (Oriental Rongotai)
Ambrose Curtis (Oriental Rongotai)
Te Wehi Wright (Old Boys University)

Coaches: Ian Tulloch, Josh Syms

Suburbs Team

Simon Malaeulu (Hutt Old Boys Marist)
James Coburn (Tawa)
Lotu Nuku (Tawa)
Dion Lealofi (Wainuiomata)
Atilla Va’a (Wainuiomata)
Taniela Koroi (Tawa)
Daley Ina (Norths)
Bevan Clarke (Wainuiomata)
Christian Lloyd (Upper Hutt Rams)
Steve Bradshaw (Hutt Old Boys Marist)
Ben Tupuola (Wainuiomata)
Glen Angus (Wainuiomata)
Fala Tuala (Norths)
Taniela Manu (Upper Hutt Rams)
Sam Tuala (Tawa)
Kaipati Gaualofa (Tawa)
Api Naikatini (Norths)
Tolu Fahamokioa (Tawa)
James O ‘Reilly (Hutt Old Boys’ Marist)
Cory Draper (Wainuiomata)
Hayden Schrijvers (Upper Hutt Rams)
John Monu (Wainuiomata)
Philip Finau (Tawa)
Marvin Karawana (Wainuiomata)
Mitchell Brown (Upper Hutt Rams)
Parataiso Silafai-Leaana
Ata Langilangi (Avalon)
Tupeni Kamakorewa (Upper Hutt Rams)
Akuso Tuitama (Norths)

Coaches: Justin Wilson, Steve Crilly

Wellington Samoan

Elijah Finoti (Hutt Old Boys Marist)
Zek Sopoaga (Old Boys University)
Valentine Meachen (Marist St Pats)
Soti Fa’amausili (Poneke)
Steve Fa’atau (Oriental Rongotai)
Nu’u Leni (Oriental Rongotai)
Tamilo Va’a (Petone)
Telea Semanufaga (Norths)
Murphy Taramai (Upper Hutt Rams)
Galu Taufale (Poneke)
Greg Leolofi (Wainuiomata)
Josh Hunt (Upper Hutt Rams)
Peme Leiataua (Oriental Rongotai)
Jack Talaupapa (Johnsonville)
Fa’atonu Fili (Marist St Pats)
Dudley Parsons (Norths)
Isiah Petelo (Marist St Pats)
Jackson Garden-Bachop
Ope Peleseuma (Hutt Old Boys Marist)
Sosi Tuimavave (Poneke)
Ryan Setefano (Marist St Pats)
Tau Mamea (Wainuiomata)
Belgium Tutagaloa (Petone)
Tomasi Alosio (Hutt Old Boys Marist)
Greg Foe (Poneke)

Coaches: Logan Tauiliili, Alphonso Parsons

Wellington Maori

Apanui Heemi (Upper Hutt Rams)
Ryan Gardner (Avalon)
Anaru Rangi (Upper Hutt Rams)
Kenny Anderson (Petone)
Whetu Henry (Oriental Rongotai)
Apirana Parata (Paramata-Plimmerton)
Gabe Papanui (Marist St Pats)
Jamie Norman (Upper Hutt Rams)
Richard Walsey (Upper Hutt Rams)
Tane Parata(Paramata-Plimmerton)
Louis Karl (Johnsonville)
TJ Fermanis (Tawa)
Dean Brunsdon (Norths)
Sheridan Rangihua (Hutt Old Boys Marist)
Damian Madsen (Avalon)
James Proctor (Oriental Rongotai)
Trevor Marama (Oriental Rongotai)
Jason Henry (Upper Hutt Rams)
Perry Hayman (Norths)
Mike Williams (Johnsonville)
Randall Bishop (Tawa)
Tamati Samuals (Petone)
Hayden Whelan (Oriental Rongotai)
Jared Kahu (Petone)

Coaches: Andrew Wharakura, Paul Wharakura

Jubilee Cup Premier | 21 July 2014 | By WRFU Media Release




Similar Articles

%d bloggers like this: