You are here
Home > RugbyHeartland News > Porirua Park to Host Super Rugby Development Match

Porirua Park to Host Super Rugby Development Match

Willis Halaholo throws a bullet in the Hurricanes 41-31 win over the Crusaders in Eketahuna. Photo: Dave Lintott

A strong contingent of Hurricanes’ squad members will suit up for the club’s development match against the Crusader Knights at Porirua Park on Thursday.

Hurricanes Development coach Darren Larsen said coinciding with a bye week was a good chance to keep Hurricanes’ squad members active, as well as create opportunities for others.

“Some of the guys haven’t had a lot of game time, so this is a good opportunity to get another run under their belts. It’s also pretty exciting for the other boys to bring their game to the next level, whether they’re ITM Cup players, or have come from the under-20 programme.

“Due to the bye week, the Hurricanes’ coaches will be out there taking a look, so it’s a huge opportunity for the guys to perform well in front of them.”

Young Hawke’s Bay fullback Nick Biss has earned a starting spot in the team after a strong performance against the Blues Under-20 team last week, while Shannon Chase and Nathan Tudreu will also have their first run for the side.

This is the first of four Hurricanes development matches that will take place throughout March and April.

The main Hurricanes squad will hold a skills and drills session for kids following the development match, from 4.30pm at Porirua Park.

The Hurricanes Development team to face the Crusader Knights, kick-off 3pm, is;

1. Tolu Fahamokioa (Wellington)
2. Motu Matu’u (Wellington)
3. Mike Kainga (BOP)
4. Geoffrey Cridge (Hawke’s Bay)
5. Tom Parsons (Hawke’s Bay)
6. Heiden Bedwell-Curtis (Manawatu)
7. Adam Hill (Wellington)
8. Mark Atkins (Manawatu)
9. Frae Wilson (Wellington)
10. Otere Black (Manawatu)
11. Nathan Tudreu (Manawatu)
12. Willis Halaholo (Southland)
13. Vince Aso (Auckland)
14. Shannon Chase (Hawke’s Bay)
15. Nick Biss (Hawke’s Bay)

16. Leni Apisai (Wellington)
17. Vincent Sakaria (Wellington)
18. Jarvy Aoake (Hawke’s Bay)
19. Tom Hughes (Manawatu)
20. Tony Lamborn (Hawke’s Bay)
21. Jamie Booth (Manawatu)
22. Jackson Garden-Bachop (Wellington)
23. Newton Tudreu (Manawatu)




Similar Articles