You are here
Home > RugbyHeartland News > Players selected for New Zealand Schools development camp

Players selected for New Zealand Schools development camp

Players selected for New Zealand Schools development camp

New Zealand’s top schoolboy rugby players have been selected to attend the New Zealand Schools development camp in Palmerston North next weekend.

The 1st XV rugby season came to a close yesterday with St Peter’s College (Auckland) claiming the Top Four title, captain Niko Jones is one of 53 players chosen to attend the national camp. 26 schools are represented from 12 Provincial Unions.

The three-day camp in Palmerston North will culminate with the New Zealand Schools and New Zealand Barbarians Schools teams being named.

Players selected are:

Name School
Arthur Allen Christs College
Iona Apineru St Patrick’s College – Silverstream
James Arscott Otago Boys’ High School
Rocco Berry St Patrick’s College – Silverstream
Caleb Cavubati Scots College
Louie Chapman Christchurch Boys’ High School
Valynce Crosby-Te Whare St Paul’s Collegiate
Stewart Cruden Palmerston North Boys’ High School
Sam Darry Christs College
Corey Evans Auckland Grammar School
Chay Fihaki Sacred Heart College
Taufa Funaki Sacred Heart College
Zach Gallagher Christs College
Josh Gimblett Napier Boys’ High School
Matt Graham-Williams St Kentigern College
Lukas Halls King’s College
Maximilian Hughes Christchurch Boys’ High School
Niko Jones St Peter’s College
Tahu Kaa Christchurch Boys’ High School
Jacob Kneepkens Francis Douglas Memorial College
Benet Kumeroa Auckland Grammar School
Peni Lasaqa St Kentigern College
Josh Lord Hamilton Boys’ High School
Josiah Maraku Feilding Agricultural High School
Thomas Martin Hamilton Boys’ High School
Saula Mau Auckland Grammar School
Blair Murray New Plymouth Boys’ High School
Mahonri Ngakuru St Kentigern College
Simon Parker St Peter’s School
Jacob Payne Southland Boys’ High School
Noah Perelini King’s College
George Prain Rangiora High School
Isaiah Punivai St Kentigern College
Rivez Reihana St Kentigern College
Robert Rush St Kentigern College
Anton Segner Nelson College
Sam Smith Wairarapa College
Roderick Solo Scots College
Ropati So’oalo Aotea College
Poukohe Sorenson Rotorua Boys High School
Kristian Standen New Plymouth Boys’ High School
Zarn Sullivan King’s College
Tiaan Tauakipulu St Kentigern College
Patrick Teddy Napier Boys’ High School
Patrick Thacker Christs College
Tyrone Thompson Napier Boys’ High School
Liam Udy-Johns Hastings Boys’ High School
Ovaleni (Junior) Uelese Scots College
Soane Vikena Mt Albert Grammar School
Ethan Webster-Nonu Scots College
Keelan Whitman St Patrick’s College – Wellington
Tamaiti Williams St Kentigern College
Gideon Wrampling St Paul’s Collegiate

New Zealand Rugby’s High Performance Player Development Manager Matt Sexton said the quality of 1st XV rugby continues to impress.

“Every year we see talented players right across the country which means our selection process needs to be incredibly rigorous.

“The depth of talent we have seen this year makes the task of selecting this group very hard, our focus has been rewarding players who have performed consistently over the course of the entire season for both school and representative teams,” said Sexton.

Of the selected players, experience comes in the form of nine players who were involved in the 2017 schools programme, while Sam Smith represents Heartland Unions out of Wairarapa College. Saint Kentigern has the most players selected, with eight, followed by Christs College and Scots College with four players each.

Last year’s Barbarians Schools coaches Brad Mooar (Crusaders) and Sam Moore (New Plymouth Boys’ High School) will lead the 2018 New Zealand Schools team. Highlanders Assistant Coach Cory Brown will take the reigns of the Barbarians Schools team and will be assisted by Mark Hooper from Kelston Boys’ High School.

The teams will be announced on 23 September.

Match schedule

27 September
New Zealand Schools v Tonga Schools, Brisbane
New Zealand Barbarians Schools v New Zealand Maori Under 19, Wellington

1 October
New Zealand Schools v Australian schools Barbarians, Brisbane
New Zealand Barbarians Schools v Fiji Schools, Wellington

6 October
New Zealand Schools v Australian Schools, Brisbane



Similar Articles

%d bloggers like this: