You are here
Home > Heartland Championship > A Special Invitation to all Wairarapa Bush, King Country and the people of New Zealand

A Special Invitation to all Wairarapa Bush, King Country and the people of New Zealand

A Special Invitation to all Wairarapa Bush, King Country and the people of New Zealand

Sir Brian Lochore and Sir Colin Meads to be honoured at the Heartland game between Wairarapa Bush and King Country on Saturday 26th September 2020.

It is with great pleasure to announce both families of the Meads and Lochore have presented the Meads/Lochore Memorial Scroll in honour of the two great stalwarts of our Provincial Unions.

The Heartland Championship honours both men for their contribution to New Zealand Rugby with the Meads and Lochore Cup. To recognize their own contributions to the Wairarapa and King Country communities, the Meads/Lochore Scroll will now become a permanent fixture between the two unions, whenever the teams met in the Heartland Championship.

The Scroll will be presented by members of the Lochore and Meads families to the two Captains of the respective teams prior to kick-off, followed by a Moment of Remembrance and a Haka performed by the Wairarapa Bush Maori team.

We invite and welcome all members of our respective communities the wider New Zealand public to be in attendance at Trust House Memorial Park and be part of the day.

Order of Events
3.00pm Wairarapa Bush Maori versus Manawatu Maori
4.50pm Presentation of Scroll to the Captains (on the field)
4.55pm Moment of Remembrance and Haka
5.00pm Farriers Wairarapa Bush versus King Country

Sir Brian Lochore ONZ KNZM OBE
Position(s) Number 8, lock All Black No. 637
Career: 202 games, 24 tries ,72pts | Lock/No 8

NEW ZEALAND 1963-65-66-67-68-69-70-71
68 games (25 tests)

Wairarapa (Masterton) 1959-60-61-62-63-64-65-66-67-68-69-70: 100g
Wairarapa Bush 1959-63-65-66-71
W.J Whineray’s XV 1966
Centurions Club 1970
NZRFU President’s XV 1973 (vs All Blacks)
NZRFU Invitation XV 1973 (v All Blacks)
Presidents Overseas XV (in England) l971
North Island 1964-65-66-67-68-69
NZ Trials 1961-63-65-66-67-68-69-70 : 13 games
New Zealand XV 1965↔️66

All Black captain 1966↔️70
Coach: Masterton club 1966↔️67,75↔️78
Wairarapa Bush 1980↔️82
All Blacks 1985↔️87 including winning of World Cup
All Black selector 1983↔️87, 2004↔️07
Campaign manager during 1995 World Cup.

Manager and coach of various World XVs and served on many NZRU committees including a crucial role late in 1995 securing All Black contracts when the game went professional.

NZRU award Steinlager Salver 2003 for outstanding service to rugby. Life member and patron of NZRU. Chairman of the sports funding agency the Hillary Commission. OBE. 1970 for services to rugby; KNZM 1999; The Order of NZ (ONZ) 2007. In 2006 received the IRB Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service. In 2002 the NZRU introduced the Lochore Cup for competition among the Heartland unions.

Rep Wairarapa tennis 1957↔️61,79↔️80.

Sir Colin Meads KNZM MBE
Position(s) Lock, Number eight All Black No. 583
Career: 361 games 81 Tries , 1 conversion, 1 Drop Goal, 253pts

NEW ZEALAND 1957-58-59-60-61-62-63-64-65-66-67-68-69-70-71  :  133 games (55 tests)

King Country (Waitete): 1955↔️1972 :139 games 99pts
Wanganui-King Country 1956- 65-66-71 : 7 games
King Country-Counties 1959 : 2 games
Centurions Club 1956-57-58-61-70 : 5 games
WJ Whineray‘s XV 1959↔️66
Barbarians Club 1973 : 2 Games
Harlequins Club 1974
South African 75“ Jubilee XV (in SA) 1964 : 3 games
NZRFU President’s XV 1973 (v NZ)
NZRFU lnvit XV 1973 (v NZ)
President’s Overseas XV (in England) 1971
Tongan lnvit XV (in Tonga) 1973
North Is Colts 1955
NZ Colts (U21) 1955 :NZ Juniors Trial 1957; NZ Juniors (U23) 1958
Black XV 1957 ; North Is.XV 1956
North Island 1956-57-58-59-62-63-65-66-67-68-69-71 : 12 games
NZ Trials 1956-57-58-59-60-62-63-65-66-67-68-69-70-71 : 22 games
Rest of NZ 1956; New Zealand XV 1958-65-66

King Country coach 1976↔️81
NZ selector 1986
NZRFU council 1992↔️96, life member 2007
NZRU award Steinlager Salver 1999 for outstanding service to rugby.
Inducted into International Rugby Hall of Fame 1997.

In 1999 was voted the NZ rugby Player of the Century in 2002 the NZRU introduced the Meads Cup for competition among the Heartland unions.

Distinguished Companion of the NZ Order of Merit (DCNZM) 2000, this was replaced by KNZM in 2009. Member of the British Empire (MBE) 1971.

Similar Articles

%d bloggers like this: